Dr. Cooper-DeHoff honored for her sustained contributions to literature

For her more than three decades of contributions to biomedical literature, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, or ASHP, Foundation awarded its 2018 Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature to UF College of Pharmacy Associate Professor Rhonda Cooper-DeHoff. The award was presented Dec. 5 at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in Anaheim, California.

Rhonda M Cooper-DeHoffCooper-DeHoff has published more than 170 peer-reviewed articles during her three decades as an academic writer. Her research interests include pharmacogenetics, hypertension, metabolic syndrome and diabetes. She has published in some of the most respected medical journals in her field, including the Journal of the American Medical Association, or JAMA, Nature, Hypertension and the Journal of the American Heart Association. Among her most cited research articles was a 2010 publication in JAMA evaluating outcomes among diabetics with hypertension and coronary disease. This paper showed that in high risk population, lowering blood pressure too much can result in increased adverse outcomes, including death.

In addition to her associate professor role in the UF College of Pharmacy, Cooper-DeHoff, Pharm.D., M.S., FAHA, FACC, serves an associate professor in the division of cardiovascular medicine in the UF College of Medicine and associate director for the UF College of Pharmacy’s Center for Pharmacogenomics. She is recognized a Fellow of the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology. In the past decade, she has won numerous national awards recognizing her contributions to research and literature.

ASHP Foundation’s Award for Sustained Contributions is presented annually to a pharmacist who has a track record for publishing high quality and impactful biomedical literature for a minimum of 20 years. The ASHP Foundation has been presenting the award since 1971, and Cooper-DeHoff is the first UF College of Pharmacy awardee since Charles Hepler, Ph.D., in 1997.