ACCP Distinguished Investigator Award presented to Dean Julie Johnson

Julie Johnson, Pharm.D., dean and distinguished professor in the University of Florida College of Pharmacy, was presented the 2019 American College of Clinical Pharmacology, or ACCP, Distinguished Investigator Award during the organization’s annual meeting in Chicago. The award is one of ACCP’s most prestigious honors and is given annually to recognize superior scientific expertise and accomplishments by a senior investigator, in a distinct area of research in basic or clinical pharmacology. ACCP also inducted Johnson as an honorary fellow in 2014.

Johnson’s research focuses on cardiovascular pharmacogenomics and genomic medicine implementation. She has authored more than 300 original research articles and been named a Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Scientist four times from 2015-18, indicating she is in the top 1 percent of the most highly cited scientists in her field. She has served in several leadership roles within the National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Food & Drug Administration and multiple professional societies, including president of the American Society of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.

In 2014, Johnson was elected to the National Academy of Medicine (formerly Institute of Medicine), which is considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine. She has received numerous national awards and honors, including the 2016 Volwiler Research Achievement Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and the 2019 American College of Clinical Pharmacy Paul Parker Medal.